Sweeping Culture Daily

SPOTLIGHT: Sweeping Culture Daily

“Girls” Soundtrack to Accurately Reflect the Struggles of Twentysomethings

Pin It

By Craig Hubert | The increasingly marketable Lena Dunham is preparing for the second-season premiere of “Girls” (January 13) with a soundtrack featuring songs from the first season. “Music is such a huge part of my creative process,” Dunham said in the official press release, adding that the fourteen tracks on the compilation are “songs that the characters would love and that accurately reflect their struggles.” The album appropriately features tracks by Harper Simon (son of Paul), overhyped pop-punk band The Vaccines, and the Grammy-nominated fun., featuring the writer/actress’s boyfriend. The soundtrack comes out on January 8th, courtesy of Fueled by Ramen records.

View the tracklist below, and listen to “Girls,” Santigold’s original contribution to the soundtrack, via Soundcloud.

Girls – Volume 1: Music from the HBO Original Series (Standard Edition):

01 Robyn: “Dancing on My Own”
02 fun.: “Sight of the Sun”
03 Harper Simon: “Wishes and Stars”
04 Santigold: “Girls”
05 White Sea: “Overdrawn”
06 Grouplove: “Everyone’s Gonna Get High”
07 Icona Pop: “I Love It”
08 The Echo Friendly: “Same Mistakes”
09 Belle & Sebastian: “I Don’t Love Anyone”
10 Fleet Foxes: “Montezuma”
11 Oh Land: “White Nights”
12 The Vaccines: “Wreckin’ Bar (Ra Ra Ra)”
13 Lia Ices: “Love Is Won”
14 Michael Penn: “On Your Way”

Girls by Fueled By Ramen

Image: Lena Dunham/Youtube

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Pin It

Add a Comment