Sweeping Culture Daily

SPOTLIGHT: Sweeping Culture Daily

NYFCC Announces Winners, Critics Tweet in Agony During Voting

Pin It

By Craig Hubert | The New York Film Critics Circle, single-handedly the most contentious critics group in the country, sat down this morning to cast their vote. Quick and painless, right? Apparently not. After six hours of deliberation, the winners have finally been announced. We have no idea what went on in that shadowy conference room, but it doesn’t sound pleasant (“Another hour of this and I’m going to start chewing off my own leg,” tweeted Star-Ledger critic Stephen Whitty). Did Richard Schickel call a filibuster? Did Armond White try to persuade voters on the merits of “That’s My Boy?” Read the results below and remember – this is only the beginning. The awards ceremony is always where the real fun occurs.

Best Picture: “Zero Dark Thirty”

Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow, “Zero Dark Thirty”

Best Screenplay: Tony Kushner, “Lincoln”

Best Actor: Daniel Day-Lewis, “Lincoln”

Best Actress: Rachel Weisz, “The Deep Blue Sea”

Best Foreign Film: “Amour”

Best Animated Film: “Frankenweenie”

Best Supporting Actor: Matthew McConaughey, “Bernie,” “Magic Mike”

Best Supporting Actress: Sally Field, “Lincoln”

Best Non-Fiction Film: “The Central Park Five,”  directors: Ken Burns, Sarah Burns, David McMahon

Best First Film: “How to Survive A Plague,” director: David France.

Best Cinematographer: Greig Fraser, “Zero Dark Thirty”

Update: Read J. Hoberman’s account of the event.


Tags: , , , ,

Pin It

Add a Comment