International Woolmark Prize Reveals 2017 Panel

Who will win the U.S. final of the 2016/17 International Woolmark Prize? That depends on the opinion of an esteemed panel of fashion insiders, the identities of whom were announced today.

They include designers, such as Jason Wu of Jason Wu and Hugo Boss, as well as Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osbourne of Public School and DKNY; editorial heads, such as Laura Brown of Harper’s Bazaar, Nick Sullivan of Esquire and Stefano Tonchi of W Magazine; and other industry influencers, like Steven Kolb, CEO of the Council of Fashion Designers of America (CFDA) and fashion consultant Julie Gilhart.

This panel will whittle down 10 U.S.-based nominees for the coveted fashion award, which was first launched in 1953 by the International Wool Secretariat, and famously awarded in 1954 to Karl Lagerfeld and Yves Saint Laurent in Paris.

The nominees are: Hellessy, Monse, Gabriela Hearst, Pyer Moss, Abasi Rosborough, Matiere, Sally Lapointe, Nellie Partow, Rochambeau, and Second/Layer. The winner will be announced on July 19 in New York City, receive an AU$50,000 financial contribution towards his or her next collection, and go through to the global final for the menswear and womenswear categories to be held early 2017.

“With more than 75 designers selected from 62 countries, this year’s edition of the International Woolmark Prize is the biggest one yet,” said The Woolmark Company Managing Director Stuart McCullough. “Our esteemed judging panels and mentors will no doubt provide expert advice to each of the nominees [and] the continued support from industry heavyweights, governing bodies and the world’s most influential retailers cements the importance of the International Woolmark Prize on the world stage.”