The 2013 CFDA Fashion Award Nominees Are Announced

Drumroll please. Last night, Council of Fashion Designers of America president Diane von Furstenberg announced the nominees for the 2013 CFDA Fashion Awards.

The fairly predictable roster isn’t likely to knock anyone’s socks off. A number of the nominees, including CDFA darlings Marc Jacobs, Thom Browne, Michael Bastain, Alexander Wang, and Proenza Schouler dream-team Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez have taken home trophies before.

Perhaps the most exciting category is the Swarovski Award for emerging talent, which tosses Creatures of the Wind’s Shane Gabier and Christopher Peters, Cushnie et Ochs’s Carly Cushnie and Michelle Ochs, and Suno’s Erin Beatty and Max Osterweis in the proverbial ring. Here’s the complete list of nominees:

Womenswear Designer of the Year
Marc Jacobs
Alexander Wang
Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez (Proenza Schouler)

Menswear Designer of the Year
Michael Bastian
Thom Browne
Steven Cox and Daniel Silver (Duckie Brown)

Alexander Wang
McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez (Proenza Schouler)
Phillip Lim

Swarovski Award for Womenswear
Shane Gabier and Christopher Peters (Creatures of the Wind)
Carly Cushnie and Michelle Ochs (Cushnie et Ochs)
Erin Beatty and Max Osterweis (Suno)

Swarovski Award for Menswear
Dao-Yi Chow and Maxwell Osborne (Public School)
Tim Coppens
Todd Snyder

Swarovski Award for Accessories
Irene Neuwirth
Jennifer Meyer
Pamela Love

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award
Vera Wang

International Award
Riccardo Tisci (Givenchy)

Founders Award
Oscar de la Renta

Media Award
Tim Blanks of

Board of Directors’ Tribute Award
Colleen Atwood

–Chloe Wyma

Visit for more fashion and style news.

Image: Fashion designers Max Osterweis and Erin Beatty from SUNO/Andy Kropa/Getty Images