2015 RIBA National Award Winners Announced

NEO-Bankside-housing-by-RSHPThe shortlisted NEO Bankside, SE1 by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners.

A grand total of 37 building projects, completed within the last year, have been crowned as the best new buildings in the United Kingdom by the Royal Institute of British Architects. The RIBA National Award is a famously prestigious accolade, and this year, like in previous years, the award sheds light on trends in design, construction, and development as they span the England, Ireland, and Scotland. At a time when housing and school buildings are lacking — both in quantity and in quality — housing developments and educational facilities came to the forefront in this year’s National shortlist. Winners will be celebrated during an event at the Serpentine Pavilion in London on July 8. 

Even after that, the competition continues for the top award — the Striling Prize, for the best building of the year in the United Kingdom. The next shortlist will be announced by RIBA on July 16, and the ultimate winner of that prize will be revealed on October 15. In the meantime, the entire list of currently shortlisted projects is presented below, divided up by region:


  • University of Greenwich Stockwell Street Building, SE10 by Heneghan Peng architects
  • Burntwood School, Wandsworth by Allford Hall Monaghan Morris
  • St Mary of Eton Church, Apartments and Community Rooms, Hackney Wick E9 by Matthew Lloyd Architects LLP
  • The Foundry, SE11 by Architecture 00 Ltd
  • NEO Bankside, SE1 by Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners
  • University campus for Hult International Business School, E1 by Sergison Bates architects
  • Bonhams, W1 by Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands
  • Ashmount Primary School, N8 by Penoyre & Prasad
  • Levring House, north London by Jamie Fobert Architects Ltd
  • Foyles, WC2 by Lifschutz Davidson Sandilands
  • Kew House, TW9 by Piercy&Company
  • Brentford Lock West, TW8 by Duggan Morris Architects
  • Darbishire Place, E1 by Niall McLaughlin Architects
  • National Theatre (NT Future) by Haworth Tompkins


  • Abode, Great Kneighton, Cambridge by Proctor and Matthews Architects
  • Parkside, Matlock by Evans Vettori Architects Limited
  • Uppingham School Science Centre by Orms

North West

  • Lancaster University Engineering Building byJohn McAslan and Partners
  • Manchester Metropolitan University Student Union by Feilden Clegg Bradley Studios
  • The Whitworth, Manchester by MUMA


  • Alfriston School, Beaconsfield by Duggan Morris Architects
  • Flint House, Waddeston by Skene Catling de la Pena
  • The Fishing Hut by Niall McLaughlin Architects

South East

  • Sussex House by Wilkinson King Architects
  • WWF-UK Headquarters Living Planet Centre, Woking by Hopkins Architects

South West/Wessex

  • Myrtle Cottage Garden Studio, Bradford on Avon by Stonewood Design
  • Dundon Passivhaus, Compton Dundon by Prewett Bizley Architects

West Midlands

  • Middleport Pottery, Stoke-on-Trent by Feilden Clegg Bradley

Northern Ireland

  • Old See House, Belfast by RPP Architects Ltd with Richard Murphy Architects
  • House at Maghera by McGonigle McGrath


  • Maggies Lanarkshire by Reiach and Hall Architects
  • Arcadia Nursery, University of Edinburgh by Malcolm Fraser Architects
  • West Burn Lane, St Andrews by Sutherland Hussey Architects
  • Dalmunach Distillery by Archial Norr (Inverness Studio)
  • Laurieston Transformational Area, Glasgow by Elder and Cannon Architects & Page Park Architects

— Anna Kats (@coldwarcasual)

Image by Edmund Sumner.