Graham Foundation Annunces 2015 Grant Recipients


The Graham Foundation celebrated the 2015 grant recipients at an evening ceremony and reception at the historic Madlener House, the Foundation’s Chicago-based headquarters. The Foundation awarded a total of US$490,000 to 63 projects by individuals that engage in original approaches in the field of architecture. The list of presenters included 2015 grantees Noritaka Minami, Candace Taylor, Lluis Ortega, and Tiffany Lambert.

The projects were chosen for their potential to advance creative experimentation, incite critical dialogue, encourage new scholarship, as well as provide more opportunties for public engagement in architecture. A variety of exhibitions, publications, archives, documentary films, podcasts, live performances, workshops, and symposia received funding.

A few of this year’s many grantees include Olafur Eliasson, Charles Rice, Didier Faustino, Kersteen Geers, Iwan Baan, Jesse Reiser + Nanako Umemoto, and Craig Hodgetts.

This year’s winners in various categories include:


  • Zoe Beloff (New York, NY)
  • Gabriela Burkhalter (Basel, Switzerland)
  • Allied Works Architecture: Brad Cloepfil (New York, NY/Portland, OR)
  • Kari Cwynar (Toronto, Canada) & Kendra Sullivan (Brooklyn, NY)
  • Jamila Moore Pewu (Hanover, MA)
  • Michael Rakowitz (Chicago, IL


  • Gavin Browning, Glen Cummings & Laura Hanna (New York, NY)
  • Etienne Desrosiers (Montreal, Canada)
  • Granny Cart Productions: Elettra Fiumi & Lea Khayata (New York, NY)
  • Chad Freidrichs (Columbia, MO), New-Territories/[eIf/b^t/c]: Camille Lacadée & François Roche (Bangkok, Thailand)
  • Léopold Lambert (Paris, France)
  • Candacy Taylor (Los Angeles, CA)


  • Elizabeth Lennard (Sausalito, CA)
  • Marije van Lidth de Jeude & Oliver Schütte (Curridabat, Costa Rica)
  • Noam Toran (London, England)


  • Ethel Baraona Pohl (Barcelona, Spain), Marina Otero Verzier (Rotterdam, the Netherlands) & Malkit Shoshan (Amsterdam, the Netherlands)
  • Alessandro Bava (London, England)
  • Silvia Benedito (Cambridge, MA) & Iwan Baan (Amsterdam, the Netherlands)
  • Emilia Bergmark (Malmö, Sweden), Corinne Gisel (Zürich, Switzerland) & Nina Paim (St. Gallen, Switzerland)
  • David Chambers & Kevin Haley (London, England)
  • Esther Choi (Brooklyn, NY) & Marrikka Trotter (Cambridge, MA)
  • Thomas Daniell (Fukuoka, Japan)
  • Charles L. Davis II (Charlotte, NC)
  • Alexander Eisenschmidt (Chicago, IL)
  • Institut für Raumexperimente: Olafur Eliasson (Berlin, Germany), Eric Ellingsen (Ithaca, NY) & Christina Werner (Berlin, Germany)
  • Didier Faustino (Paris, France)
  • Todd Gannon (Orange, CA) & Craig Hodgetts (Culver City, CA)
  • Kersten Geers, Joris Kritis (Brussels, Belgium), Jelena Pancevac (Paris, France) & Andrea Zanderigo (Milan, Italy)
  • Chris Grimley, Michael Kubo & Mark Pasnik (Boston, MA)
  • Georgina Huljich & Marcelo Spina (Los Angeles, CA)
  • Daniel Ibañez (Cambridge, MA), Clare Lyster (Chicago, IL), Charles Waldheim (Cambridge, MA) & Mason White (Toronto, Canada)
  • Catherine Ingraham (Brooklyn, NY)
  • Doug Jackson (San Luis Obispo, CA)
  • Daniel López-Pérez (San Diego, CA)
  • Sébastien Marot (Paris, France)

— Anna Kats (@coldwarcasual)

Image courtesy Didier Faustino for Mis/Architecture(s).