In the Air
Art News & Gossip

In the Air – Art News & Gossip

Posts Tagged ‘Instagrams of the Art World’

Instagrams of the Art World: Pi Day, Theremins, and More

Gavin Brown’s Enterprise gallery director Lucy Chadwick (lkchadwick) celebrated Pi Day in supreme style — especially if this picture was taken at 9:26 PM. #neverapologizefornerditude

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: #ABHK, Jay Z, and More

Alex Prager (alexprager) enjoyed her neon-lined view of Hong Kong — where she and many camera-happy cohorts trekked this week for Art Basel Hong Kong (see: #ABHK).

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: #ArmoryWeek Edition

Robin Cembalest (rcembalest) high-fived Hank Willis Thomas in front of his “Artsy Takeover” piece — easily the single most ’grammed Armory shot.

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: RIP Leonard Nimoy, and More

Kenny Scharf (kennyscharf) gave some love to his “main man,” Mr. Spock — RIP, Mr. Nimoy.

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: HBD Jerry Saltz, Kehinde Wiley, and More

Okay, Klaus Biesenbach (klausbiesenbach) stepped up his Instagram game hard this week. It was achingly, impossibly difficult to choose between this tease of Bjork’s newly restored swan dress and this one in which he lofts “82 white roses – hand delivered” toward the camera as if offering you love itself — but in the end, we had to go with the above image, a birthday missive to Jerry Saltz, which is apparently also an “impersonation as werner herzog and klaus kinski from ‘mein liebster feind,’” which, just, yes.

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: NYFW, Cookie Monster, and More

New York Fashion Week — that is, #NYFW — is indeed upon us once more, so here’s a picture of Kanye West in what looks like a brief bow after his Adidas show, caught by Salon 94’s Jeanne Greenberg Rohatyn (jeannegr).

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Artists Get Cheeky, Hit Mexico, and More

Rob Pruitt (robpruitt5000) graced us with this reminder of when he reimagined Gavin Brown’s Enterprise as a “nude beach” — i.e., a place where he was naked, and also there was sand. (Photo by Magnus Unnar for Double Magazine)

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: LA Art Books, NY Snow, and More

In anticipation of Super Bowl Sunday, the MFA Boston (mfaboston) posted this historical piece to remind us of Sam Adams’s well-documented sports allegiance. GO PATS! (Who are we kidding, we forgot that the Super Bowl was this week until we Googled it just now.)

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Museum Selfies, TGIF, and More

To celebrate #MuseumSelfieDay, Jeanette Hayes (jeanettehayes) got affectionate with this Adriaen Van Utrecht fish at the Museum of Fine Arts in Ghent, Belgium.

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Titus Kaphar’s Rousing New Show, and More

A number of artists posted laudatory shots of Titus Kaphar’s new show at Jack Shainman Gallery (see also: Wangechi Mutu), but our favorite caption has got to be Rashaad Newsome’s (rashaadnewsome): “Titus Kaphar’s opening gave me life with no parole. Definitely a must see exhibition.”

(more…)