In the Air
Art News & Gossip

In the Air – Art News & Gossip

Posts Tagged ‘Instagrams of the Art World’

Instagrams of the Art World: Dustin Yellin in Drag, Jenna Lyons, Usher, and More

Paddle8 co-founder Alexander Gilkes (gilkesa) snapped this priceless shot of artist Dustin Yellin walking in the Misha Nonoo runway show (he collaborated with the designer on some of the collection’s prints) in the guise of what we can only assume is an over-caffeinated fashion editor.

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Scorsese, De Niro, Miranda July, and More

French street artist JR (jr) snapped this adorable moment with Martin Scorsese and Robert De Niro.

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Le1f, Botero, Burning Man, and More

Artist Rashaad Newsome (rashaadnewsome) snapped this photo of rapper Le1f and brand ambassador Ian Isiah at his King of Arms Art Ball where they were judges on Sunday night.

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Murillo Does the Ice Bucket Challenge, Louis C.K., and More

Art flipping collector Stefan Simchowitz (stefansimchowitz) challenged artist Oscar Murillo to the ALS ice bucket challenge that went viral this week.

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Katy Perry Loves Surrealism, Schama Visits the Frick, and More

Katy Perry (katyperry) did some copious instagramming during a visit to the Art Institute of Chicago where she snapped images of several iconic Magritte works in addition to this selfie with Grant Wood’s “American Gothic.”

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Wangechi Mutu and FLOTUS, Lena Dunham’s Toilet, and More

Brooklyn-based artist Wangechi Mutu (mutustudio) was at the White House’s Africa Leaders Summit Dinner where she snapped a selfie with none other than Michelle Obama.

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Val Kilmer, President Obama, Bob Ross, and More

Artist Enoc Perez (enocperez) posted this paparazzi-style photo with none other than Val Kilmer. Wonder what those two were up to…

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Wet Pomeranians, Elton John, Fire Island, and More

The Hole’s Kathy Grayson (kathy__grayson) gave her famous Pomeranian, Bertram — who happens to have his own instagram account (bertiebertthepom) — a bath this week and it was adorable.

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Lana Del Rey, Curator Selfies, Koons Bags, and More

Prolific instagrammer and MoMA PS1 director Klaus Biesenbach (klausbiesenbach) snapped this portrait of Lana Del Rey at his “Rockaway!” arts festival pet project.

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Los Borrachos, Martha Stewart, New Tattoos, and More

Artist Vik Muniz (vikmuniz) took this adorably boozy photo with artist Martin Parr and captioned it “Los Borrachos!” — the spanish title of Velázquez’s iconic painting that English-speakers know as “The Triumph of Bacchus.”

(more…)