In the Air
Art News & Gossip

In the Air – Art News & Gossip

Posts Tagged ‘Instagrams of the Art World’

Instagrams of the Art World: Museum Selfies, TGIF, and More

To celebrate #MuseumSelfieDay, Jeanette Hayes (jeanettehayes) got affectionate with this Adriaen Van Utrecht fish at the Museum of Fine Arts in Ghent, Belgium.

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Titus Kaphar’s Rousing New Show, and More

A number of artists posted laudatory shots of Titus Kaphar’s new show at Jack Shainman Gallery (see also: Wangechi Mutu), but our favorite caption has got to be Rashaad Newsome’s (rashaadnewsome): “Titus Kaphar’s opening gave me life with no parole. Definitely a must see exhibition.”

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Artists Support #JeSuisCharlie, and More

Hours after the tragic shooting at the Charlie Hebdo offices, Banksy (banksy) posted this drawing by French illustrator Lucille Clerc, which quickly catapulted to popularity across social media.

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Happy 2015 Edition

Looks like Rainer Judd (rainerjudd) broke a wine glass mid-festivities — but, y’know, at least she made it Art.

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Gavin Brown’s Christmas List, and More

This week, by far our favorite Instagram discovery has got to be the beautiful geniuses over at FoolsDoArt, two Squarespace employees who spend their free time recreating classic artworks with office supplies and raw determination. If we had our druthers, we’d just do an entire thread of their works — “Girl With a Pearl Earring” and “The Anatomy Lesson of Dr. Nicolaes Tulp” are especially priceless — but we’ve got a whole seven days of phone-snapped artistry to catalogue, and holiday-ish artistry at that. See, below. (And meanwhile, thank you, Washington Post, for devoting virtual column inches to this well worthy phenomenon.)

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Cooper Hewitt Selfies, and More

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Special #MiamiArtWeek Edition

Miami Art Week — AKA, #MiamiArtWeek, #ABMB, and/or #helplolwhatishappening — has finally drawn to a close, but not before the myriad art-worlder attendees had a chance to catalogue their experience on Instagram. Above is rapper Brooke Candy (brookecandy)’s good morning salute to the city — and below are a few more choice snapshots from throughout the week. (Note: We recommend playing Will Smith’s “Miami” on repeat through the duration of this post, also probably hitting yourself over the head several times with a Nerf bat, and you’ll just about approximate the experience of having been there yourself.)

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Ferguson Protesters Take to NYC, and More

Rashaad Newsome (rashaadnewsome) captured a video of protestors taking to the New York City streets following the grand jury’s failure to indict Darren Wilson — “No justice, no peace, no racist police!” (sounds like he also contributes an affirming “woo!”) — as did Klaus Biesenbach (klausbiesenbach), while Awol Erizku (awolerizku) posted the above photograph.

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Emily Ratajkowski Nabs Painting, JR Hits Istanbul, and More

Collector Stefan Simchowitz (stefansimchowitz) posted this shot of model Emily Ratajkowski (of “Blurred Lines” fame), who was apparently pouting because she couldn’t keep this Zachary Armstrong piece — or at least, that’s how we’ve chosen to interpret the caption, “This is what happens when you can’t get something you realy [sic] want,” lest we realize this “wanting” isn’t necessarily directed toward the artwork at all. Armstrong (z___a), meanwhile, regrammed with the caption “#careerpeaked.”

(more…)

Instagrams of the Art World: Harry Brant’s Best-Ever Burger, Biesenbach’s Epic Selfie, and More

Klaus Biesenbach (klausbiesenbach) and Hans Ulrich Obrist joined forces to take a quadruple selfie (note the flattering MySpace-style high angle).

(more…)