Expo Chicago Names Artists For In/Situ And More

Expo Chicago, whose third edition takes place in the city September 18 through 21, has announced the artists included in its In/Situ section, organized by Independent Curators International Executive Director Renaud Proch. The 8 participants are Robert Burnier; Fernando Pareja and Leidy Chavez; Cheryl Pope; Michael Rakowitz (whose work is pictured above); Jessica Stockholder; Saya Woolfalk; Ken Gonzales-Day; and Whitney Biennial stand-out Elijah Burgher.

“This IN/SITU selection is an homage to the city; to what artists take from and give to it; to the abundance of artistic creation and experimental practice that exists here amid an intense exchange of ideas,” Proch explains in press materials. “Perhaps inevitably, in this cosmopolitan metropolis, the work here speaks to the contemporary human condition in the world. It is formalist, anti-formalist, language-based, fantastical, political, futuristic and socially-engaged. The artists chosen—most of them having lived, worked, studied or taught in Chicago—have helped to make Chicago one of the top art production centers in the United States.”

The project continues beyond the confines of the fair with IN/SITU Outside, which will place public pieces by Ai Weiwei, Michael Rakowitz, Alice Aycock, Indira Johnson, Christopher Wool, and Robert Lobe around the city. Weiwei’s inclusion is his by now iconic “Circle of Animals/Zodiac Heads: Bronze.” Rakowitz brings “Every Weapon Is A Tool If You Hold It Right” to the Navy Pier, an interactive work that involves carp fishing with both Iraqi and American war vets in Chicago.

Further programming at the fair includes EXPO Projects, which spotlights “large-scale installations, site-specific and performative” pieces by Scott Carter, Jillian Conrad, Jim Duignan, Alois Kronschlaeger, Markus Linnenbrink, and Alex Webb working with Rebecca Norris Webb. EXPO Video, curated by Astria Suparak, will screen work — all from artists hailing from the States, Ghana, and Hungary, according to press materials — by John Akomfrah, Skip Arnold, Eric Flesichauer & Jason Lazarus, Takeshi Murata, Jennifer Reeder, Michael Robinson, and Alyson Shotz.

— Scott Indrisek (@indrisek)

(Photo: Michael Rakowitz, “May the Arrogant Not Prevail,” 2010; Courtesy of artist and Rhona Hoffman Gallery)