Marina Abramovic, Lorna Simpson, Fred Wilson, and More Inducted Into National Academy


On Tuesday the National Academy announced the election of artists Marina Abramović, Vito Acconci, Dotty Attie, Alice Aycock, Mark Bradford, Barkley L. Hendricks, Christian Marclay, James Rosenquist, Lorna Simpson, Sarah Sze, Barbara Takenaga, Carrie Mae Weems, and Fred Wilson to its ranks. The incoming academicians are joined by newly inducted architects David Adjaye, Paul Broches, Kate Orff, William Pedersen, Renzo Piano, and Moshe Safdie. An induction ceremony is slated for October 29.

The Academy’s class of 2013 were elected by its more than 300 current members. Each incoming member must gift an artwork representative of their practice to the Academy, whose collection currently includes over 7,000 pieces, in addition to architectural models and documentation given by architect members. Since its founding in 1825, the revered art organization has had a total of more than 2,000 members.

The Academy’s Upper East Side complex, which houses a museum and a school, features a program of temporary exhibitions and thematic shows displaying works from its collection. The NA has been making efforts to modernize its image and programming in recent years, and the addition of contemporary art heavyweights like performance artists Abramovic and Acconci, as well as “The Clock” mastermind Marclay and the U.S.’s current representative at the Venice Biennale (Sze) will certainly help.

“These remarkable artists and architects are outstanding additions to the Academy’s historic membership,” the institution’s director, Carmine Branagan, said in a statement. “For each, their impact and influence on American art and architecture is undeniable.”

— Benjamin Sutton

(Photo by the author.)